WI vs NZ 2022 – West Indies include Kevin Sinclair in ODI squad for New Zealand series, Shimron Hetmyer returns

Following his return to West Indies’ T20I squad last month, Shimron Hetmyer is back in their ODI squad too. The middle-order batter has been named in a 14-man squad for the three-match ODI leg of the ongoing home series against New Zealand.
Hetmyer returned to West Indies colours for the first time since November 2021 – he had been excluded mostly on fitness grounds in the interim – for the T20I series against India and New Zealand. He is now in line to play his first ODI since July 2021.
The squad includes one new face in the Guyanese offspin-bowling allrounder Kevin Sinclair, who has played six T20Is but is yet to make his ODI debut.
“As we stated before, we are looking to broaden the pool of players and we have decided to give Sinclair an opportunity in the CG United ODI Series against New Zealand,” lead selector Desmond Haynes said. “He has been in the system for a while and was also in the ‘A Team’ to play against Bangladesh ‘A’ in the upcoming series. We believe with his calm approach and skills he will do well in the matches against New Zealand.”
Left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, whose participation in the ODI series against India last month was cut short by a finger injury, has been included in the squad subject to clearing a fitness test.
Legspinner Hayden Walsh, who replaced Motie during the series against India, has been left out. Also out of the squad are the hard-hitting middle-order batter Rovman Powell and the seam-bowling allrounder Romario Shepherd.

Shepherd, who was left out of the third T20I against India following expensive outings in the first two, and his bowling in the death overs has been a concern for West Indies of late. Of all bowlers to have sent down at least 60 balls in the last 10 overs of ODI innings this year, Shepherd (10.28) has the worst economy rate, with New Zealand’s Blair Tickner (9.09) quite a way behind in second place.

Spin-bowling allrounders Roston Chase (injury) and Fabian Allen (personal reasons) were unavailable for selection.

West Indies ODI squad for New Zealand series: Nicholas Pooran (capt), Shai Hope (vice-capt), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie (subject to fitness), Keemo Paul, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair.

Source link

Leave a Comment