Subroto Cup: Kerala’s NNMHSS scores 23 goals; Uttar Pradesh, Assam schools to play for a place in quarterfinals


NNMHSS, Chelembra, Kerala, poured in 23 goals against St. Francis Xavier High School, Daman & Diu, to register its second win at the 61st Subroto Cup sub-junior international football tournament here on Thursday.

Major Dhyan Chand Sports College, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, Mingmang Nalbari High School, Assam, and Government Chawngfianga Middle School, Mizoram, also notched up their second win in their respective pools. Matches were played across four venues.

Jijin PP scored six goals for the Kerala school, while Mohammed Jishan and Aman Mohammed scored five each. Jaizal P, who scored a hat-trick, Abhinay PS and Wasim Mustafa are the other scorers, as NNMHSS completed a massive win in the Pool H clash. In the other match of the pool, Sainik School, Imphal, Manipur, beat Pathways School, Noida 8-0.

Major Dhyan Chand Sports College, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, managed a narrow 2-1 win over Kamala Devi Public School, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, to get its second win on the trot.

However, Kendriya Vidyalaya, Imphal, Manipur, went down 1-0 to Mingmang Nalbari High School, Assam, in a Pool E match. It was the second win for the Assam side in as many games.

The Uttar Pradesh and Assam schools will fight for a place in the quarterfinals in tomorrow’s Pool E final match.

There are a total of eight pools, and the team that tops the pool will qualify for the quarterfinals.

Government Chawngfianga Middle School, Mizoram, got better of Zinc Football Academy, Rajasthan, 2-1 to record its second win in a Pool B match.

In Pool A, Sankar International School, Fatehabad, Haryana, went down to National Cadet Corps (NCC) 2- 0, while Government Model High School, Sector 36, Chandigarh, beat Maharana Pratap Sports College, Dehradun, Uttrakhand 1 – 0 to register their first win in the tournament.

What is Subroto Cup?

Subroto Cup is an annual inter-school football tournament that is held in New Delhi. Named after the Indian Air Force Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee, the tournament began in 1960. Students from different countries across Asia participate in this tournament.

The tournament is the brainchild of Subroto Mukerjee, who conceived the idea in 1958 when he was the Chief of the Air Staff. The first tournament was held in 1960, with the participation of 50 schools. Since 1998, the tournament is played in two age groups, sub-Junior (U-14 years) and Junior (U-17 years). Madhyamgram High School, West Bengal, has the record for winning this tournament (U-17) the most number of times (7), which included a hat trick of titles from 1981 – 1983.

Source link

Leave a Comment