The VIVO Indian Premier League 2021 schedule was revealed by the IPL Governing Council on Sunday. The IPL extravaganza will return home after nearly two years, with Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata hosting the marquee festival.

The season will begin in Chennai on April 9th, 2021, with a high-octane match between the reigning champions Mumbai Indians and the Royal Challengers Bangalore. On the 30th of May, 2021, the World’s Largest Cricket Stadium, Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will host the Playoffs and the Final, which promises to be a visual spectacle. The newly-built stadium, which hosted India’s second Pink Ball match at home with great pomp and circumstance, will host the IPL for the first time.

During the league level, each team will play at four different locations. Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata, and Bengaluru will each host 10 league matches, while Ahmedabad and Delhi will each host 8 matches. The fact that all matches will be played at neutral grounds, with no team playing at their home venue, is one of the highlights of this edition of the VIVO IPL. During the league level, all teams will compete at four of the six venues.

There will be 11 double headers in all, with six teams playing three afternoon matches and two teams playing two afternoon matches. The afternoon games will begin at 3:30 p.m. IST, while the evening games will begin at 7:30 p.m. IST.

Following the tournament’s secure and fruitful hosting in the UAE last year with all safety measures in place, the BCCI is confident in hosting the IPL at home, with the health and safety of the players and all those concerned as a top priority.

The tournament’s schedule has been designed so that each team will only travel three times during the league level, minimising travel time and risk. The VIVO IPL will be played behind closed doors at home this year, with a decision on inviting spectators to be made later in the tournament.

Click Here to View Vivo IPL Schedule 2021 PDF

Add Comment